Frequently Asked Questions:
Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 

Why was the Energy Independence and Security Act (EISA) enacted?

The Act is designed “to move the United States toward greater energy independence and security, to increase the production of clean renewable fuels, to protect consumers, to increase the efficiency of products, buildings, and vehicles, to promote research on and deploy greenhouse gas capture and storage options, and to improve the energy performance of the Federal Government, and for other purposes.”

Why is the government setting efficiency standards for light bulbs?

The government has been setting minimum efficiency standards for many years on products such as clothes washers, cars, and refrigerators. This encourages manufacturers to develop products for consumers that are more energy efficient and therefore less expensive to operate. It also helps protect our natural resources, saves energy, and reduces our dependency on foreign oil. 

Does EISA ban incandescent bulbs?

No, but its minimum efficiency standards are high enough that the incandescent light bulbs most commonly used by consumers today will not meet the new requirements. Once implemented, the Act will essentially eliminate 40W, 60W, 75W, and 100W medium screw base incandescent light bulbs.

Which bulbs will EISA affect?

EISA sets efficiency standards for general service lamps, which currently include the following light bulbs:

  • General service incandescent lamps
  • Compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs)
  • General service light-emitting diode (LED) and organic light emitting diode (OLED) lamps

Are any bulbs exempt from EISA?

Yes. Twenty-two types of incandescent lamps are exempt from the new minimum efficiency standards defined by EISA:

  1. Appliance lamps
  2. Black light lamps
  3. Bug lamps
  4. Colored lamps
  5. Infrared lamps
  6. Left-hand thread lamps
  7. Marine lamps
  8. Marine’s signal service lamps
  9. Mine service lamps
  10. Plant light lamps
  11. Reflector lamps
  12. Rough service lamps
  13. Shatter-resistant lamps (including shatter-proof and shatter-protected)
  14. Sign service lamps
  15. Silver bowl lamps
  16. Showcase lamps
  17. 3-way incandescent lamps
  18. Traffic signal lamps
  19. Vibration service lamps
  20. G-shape lamps with a diameter of 5” or more
  21. T-shape lamps that use no more than 40W or are longer than 10”
  22. B, BA, CA, F, G16-1/2, G-25, G-30, M-14, or S lamps of 40W or less

When will the new standards be phased in?

The lighting standards mandated by EISA began to take effect in January 2012, with the traditional 100W bulb being phased out. Traditional 75W incandescent lightbulbs were no longer available as of January 1, 2013 and traditional 40 and 60W incandescent lightbulbs will no longer be available as of January 1, 2014.**

* The EISA 2007 act specifically limits the import or manufacture of inefficient bulbs. Stores will be able to sell remaining inventory.

** In California, all of the new lighting standards were in effect as of January 1, 2013.

What will the lighting standards mandated by EISA 2007 mean to consumers?

Consumers who switch to the energy-saving bulbs will immediately spend less money on their monthly energy bills for the same amount of light. Upgrading 15 traditional incandescent bulbs in your home with energy-saving bulbs could save you about $50 per year. 

Consumers will have the choice to continue using traditional incandescent bulbs for as long as they last, or switch to more efficient bulbs. These new standards apply specifically to lighting manufacturers and wholesalers, who will not be permitted to sell bulbs that do not meet the minimum efficiency standards. As a result, consumers will see fewer incandescent bulbs on the store shelves as the applicable dates approach.